About Us

Voices of Mexico is an English-language magazine published by the UNAM Center for Research on North America (CISAN). It first saw the light of day in 1986 with the mission of building bridges of communication among the societies of Mexico, the United States, and Canada, presenting our multicultural, multifaceted country.

Like any long-lasting publication, Voices of Mexico has gone through different eras and been sensitive to each historic moment: from the attempts at regional understanding and integration in the framework of the negotiations for the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), until today, when the magazine, without being moored in a specific moment, represents Mexico’s plurality of voices from the university and society. Its main aim is to break stereotypes about our country that continue to survive abroad and present a living, dynamic Mexico that has horizontal links to all spheres of the region.

The content is diverse, related to the CISAN’s academic work, although the magazine is for popular consumption, with art and culture as its guiding crosscutting issues. Both its articles and its graphic material are of the highest quality, earning recognition from our readership and awards from the Mexican National Chamber of the Publishing Industry on several occasions.

Center for Research on North America


Awards Awards Awards

Graciela Martínez-Zalce Sánchez

Coordinator of Publications
Astrid Velasco Montante

Teresa Jiménez Andreu

Circulation and Sales
Sury Sadahi Allende Flores

Art Director
Patricia Pérez Ramírez

Business Manager
Carlos Agustín Espinosa Barrera

Assistant to the Coordinator of Publications
Minerva Cruz Salas

Heather Dashner Monk

Translator for Art & Culture
María Cristina Fernández Hall

Esmeralda Martínez Montes

Rector UNAM
Leonardo Lomelí Vanegas

Coordinator of Humanities
Miguel Armando López Leyva

Director of the Center for Research on North America (CISAN)
Graciela Martínez-Zalce Sánchez

Sergio Aguayo, Carlos Alba Vega, Arturo Borja Tamayo, Jorge Bustamante, Jorge Carpizo, Fernando Rafael Castañeda Sabido, Lourdes N. Chehaibar Náder, Guadalupe González, Rosario Green, Roberto Gutiérrez López, Elizabeth Gutiérrez Romero, Julio Labastida, Miguel León-Portilla, Paz Consuelo Márquez Padilla, Alicia Mayer, Mario Melgar, William Merrill, Humberto Muñoz García, Ruperto Patiño Manffer, Olga Pellicer, Elena Poniatowska, Vicente Quirarte, Federico Reyes Heroles, Andrés Rozental, José Sarukhán, Mari Carmen Serra Puche, Fernando Solana, Rodolfo Stavenhagen, María Teresa Uriarte, Diego Valadés, José Luis Valdés-Ugalde, Ambrosio Velasco Gómez, Mónica Verea, Verónica Villarespe Reyes.